top of page

5 things I didn't know about cervical cancer...until I had cervical cancer.


This coming week is Cervical Cancer Prevention Week. A whoooole week for me to go on about Bob and how he could have been prevented - and how you could prevent having to go through cervical cancer yourself. It's also a time for semi-celebration for me, as I was first diagnosed 2 years ago this month, and I'm still here.

I've seen lots of cervical cancer stories shared on social media in the last few weeks, which is amazing. I'm so happy that cervical cancer is being spoken about more freely. But from talking to some of the ladies in my life, it seems that while people have heard about cervical cancer, there are still some unknowns around what it actually is. We're all told we should go for our smear tests and that it can help prevent cancer, but why? And how?

So here are my 5 things I didn't know about cervical cancer before I had it.

1. So, err....what IS a cervix?

Yup, I definitely didn't know this. All I knew was that it was some part of my vagina. And that's kind of right, but here is a much better explanation (thanks to the lovely people at Jo's Cervical Cancer Trust)

'The cervix (or neck of the uterus) is the lower, narrow part of the uterus (womb) that joins to the top of the vagina. The opening of the cervix is called the ‘os’. The cervical os allows menstrual blood to flow out from the vagina during menstruation. During pregnancy, the cervical os closes to help keep the foetus inside the uterus until birth. During labour the cervix dilates, or widens, to allow the baby to move from the uterus to the vagina.

To summarise, the cervix is like the motorway between your vagina and uterus. It lets yucky lady bits scoot out, swimmy boy bits motor in and pops up a road block for the baby when you're pregnant. It's a very clever bit of your body, and the unsung hero of your lady bits, I'd say.

So you don't really want it covered in cancer and cut out, like mine.

Go for your smear test please.

2. I've heard cervical cancer is caused by HPV...but what is it?

OK, this one's heavy with facts and figures. Are you ready?......

HPV (Human papillomavirus) is an incredibly common virus - 4 out of 5 of us will contract it in one form or another during our lifetime, thanks to it being transmitted easily with skin to skin contact. There are over 100 different strains of the virus, it's the most common sexually transmitted virus (no, you're not a slut) and most types of HPV are harmless and cleaned up by your immune system before you even knew you had it.

But The World Health Organization (WHO) recognise 13 strains as causing cancer (A further 9 have been linked with causing cancer, but there isn't enough evidence to be sure). These high risk types are the viruses that can cause changes to the cells in your cervix, and over the years these changes can turn into cancer.

The HPV vaccine was introduced in 2008 to help protect against 2 of the high risk viruses (HPV 16 and 18), which cause 70% of cervical cancers. The vaccines are over 98% effective in preventing cervical abnormalities associated with HPV 16 and 18. I can't do the exact maths, but think how many cases of cervical cancer will be prevented thanks to this vaccine! Amazing!

But this is why cervical screening is so important. Women are invited to their first smear test at the age of 25, so a huge proportion of women 25 and up won't have had this vaccine. The smear test will pick up on any abnormal changes to the cells in your cervix, and mean they can be treated before they turn into anything more sinister.

And even for those who have had the vaccine - there's a shady 2% there. Don't risk it.

Go for your smear test please.

3. How can I tell if I have cervical cancer?

There are a few recognised symptoms to look out for which could indicate your cervix is doing something it shouldn't be. But please don't panic if you read this list and think "Oh god, that's me!" - there are lots of reasons you might be experiencing a symptom and they don't all mean you have cancer. But it's definitely worth getting them checked out by your GP.

On the other hand, you could be like me and not have ANY symptoms. I didn't have a clue that anything was wrong until I got the results from my routine smear test. Early detection and treatment saves lives, and if I'd waited until I had symptoms to go for my appointment, I might have a very different story to tell.

Remember - Google is NOT a replacement for your doctor, and you will nearly always find the worst case scenario there. Googling has sent me into a paranoid hysteria on several occasions, so don't do it to yourself. There are some excellent websites, including Macmillan and Jo's Trust, with up to date and accurate information if you really want to do your research.

Go for your smear test please.

4. People don't know how to talk to you, so they won't.

I think this one applies to every kind of cancer, but when you have a weird unknown girly cancer? Forget it. Not only do people feel uncomfortable about what to say, or whether they should say anything at all, but how on earth do you ask how someone's vagina is?

And the answer? There is no right way to ask how your vagina is.

I found repeatedly throwing the word 'cervix' loudly into conversation was the only way I could make it silly and common place to discuss with my Dad. We now freely shout 'CERVIX' and 'OVARY' at each other. (Please note this may not work for all people, and all situations. It is advisable to check your surroundings before chirping up with loud lady parts - not suitable for libraries, the theatre or generally any place where strangers can hear you.)

But the point is, please just talk to us. Cancer is a scary, sad and lonely time. Even when you are surrounded by people, you can feel alone because no one else understands what you're feeling. Only a small handful of my friends and family kept in touch with me while I was poorly, and at the time it was devastating to think that these people didn't care enough to even drop me a text and ask how I was. But over time, I came to realise that these people didn't know what to say, or didn't want to bother me.

So here is my advice to anyone who is struggling to find the right words -

*Be the first to ask how they are - please don't leave it to us to broach the subject (if you know what's going on anyway). I remember being at a friend's birthday party and feeling like I had to clear the air because no one was talking about it, so I loudly announced "I just finished my first week of chemo!".

Just ask how everything is going, or how we're feeling. If we don't want to talk about it, you'll soon pick up on our short answers. But from my experience, it really helped to talk about it. Most people seemed interested once the conversation had started, it just needs to start.

* Take the lead from the person you're talking to - if they want to cry, let them cry. If they want to be angry, be angry with them. If they need to make inappropriate jokes about the situation, let them. (But a word of warning - be careful doing the same thing back if you don't know them well. When raising money for a charity run after my surgeries, a work colleague 'joked' he would have donated more if I'd had "real cancer". Ouch.)

* Be honest - if you don't know what to say, tell us that. It's really OK. We don't know what to say either. It's just shit. So say that. (You don't HAVE to swear). At least you're acknowledging it.

* Keep your medical 'knowledge' and opinions to yourself - we know you're only trying to help. But telling me you know someone who had cancer and they died, or that the hospital I'm being treated at is really bad, or that you had the flu once so you know how awful I feel....no. Just no. See above - ask, take their lead, be honest if you don't know what to say. Don't fill the silence with unhelpful nonsense.

Go for your smear test please. We like hearing you've done that.

5. Not everyone with cancer looks like they have cancer.

Before Bob, if I heard the word 'cancer' I would imagine someone frail with no hair. But not everyone having cancer treatment looks that way. When I was first diagnosed, the doctors believed I would only need surgery to be cured. So all I had to show for my cancer was 7 little 'H' shaped scars on my tummy (one was in my belly button - yick!)

Even when my cancer came back a year later and the treatment included radiotherapy and chemotherapy, I still didn't look how I thought I would. Did you know that not every chemotherapy drug makes you lose your hair? I didn't, but I was lucky enough to be given Cisplatin, a drug which meant my hair stayed put. Macmillan list over 100 different chemotherapy drug combinations on their website, so there will be lots of different side effects, or lack there of, for lots of different people. We'll all look and feel different.

The only way I could stave off the nausea, another common side effect of treatment, was to just keep eating - anything I could get my greedy little mitts on. My very lovely friends and family continually supplied me with biscuits and chocolate and all kinds of yummy naughty foods. This combined with the lack of exercise I did due to the overwhelming fatigue, plus the steroids I took every day, meant that I piled on 2 stones of chemo chub in as many months.

Nothing about my appearance said "cancer". More fat, sleepy girl. So next time you see someone struggling, whether that be physically, emotionally or otherwise, be kind and be patient. You don't know their story, and it could be much worse than your initial judgement.

For anyone going through similar, these 'Kicking cancer's ass' pin badges are perfect for avoiding those awkward "erm, excuse me, sorry, I have cancer" conversations that make all of us feel uncomfortable (trust me, we aren't bragging and are only telling you because we need to). I wish I'd had one during treatment!

Go for your smear test please.

Jo's Cervical Cancer Trust

The gorgeous ladies (seriously, aren't they beautiful?!) featured at the top of this blog are just a few of my fabulous friends who have been there for me during the last two years. They've all agreed to take part in the #smearforsmear campaign run by Jo's Trust each year to help raise awareness of cervical cancer and how it can be prevented. They're an amazing charity who helped me more than they know during my poorly days.

Why not get involved? Take a pic, spread the word (or this blog, if it helps) and make sure to book your smear test. Together, we can make cervical cancer a thing of the past.

And as always - love yourself, love your bits and go for your smear test. xx


Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page